Weinberg - Netflix

Weinberg - Netflix

Type: Scripted

Languages: German

Status: Ended

Runtime: 50 minutes

Premier: 2015-10-06

Weinberg - Steven Weinberg - Netflix

Steven Weinberg (born May 3, 1933) is an American theoretical physicist and Nobel laureate in Physics for his contributions with Abdus Salam and Sheldon Glashow to the unification of the weak force and electromagnetic interaction between elementary particles. He holds the Josey Regental Chair in Science at the University of Texas at Austin, where he is a member of the Physics and Astronomy Departments. His research on elementary particles and physical cosmology has been honored with numerous prizes and awards, including in 1979 the Nobel Prize in Physics and in 1991 the National Medal of Science. In 2004 he received the Benjamin Franklin Medal of the American Philosophical Society, with a citation that said he is “considered by many to be the preeminent theoretical physicist alive in the world today.” He has been elected to the US National Academy of Sciences and Britain's Royal Society, as well as to the American Philosophical Society and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Weinberg's articles on various subjects occasionally appear in The New York Review of Books and other periodicals. He has served as consultant at the U. S. Arms Control and Disarmament Agency, President of the Philosophical Society of Texas, and member of the Board of Editors of Daedalus magazine, the Council of Scholars of the Library of Congress, the JASON group of defense consultants, and many other boards and committees.

Weinberg - Honors and awards - Netflix

The honors and awards that Professor Weinberg received include: Honorary Doctor of Science degrees from eleven institutions: University of Chicago, Knox College, University of Rochester, Yale University, City University of New York, Dartmouth College, Weizmann Institute, Clark University, Washington College, Columbia University, Bates College. American Academy of Arts and Sciences, elected 1968 National Academy of Sciences, elected 1972 J. Robert Oppenheimer Memorial Prize, 1973 Richtmyer Memorial Award (1974) Dannie Heineman Prize for Mathematical Physics, 1977 Steel Foundation Science Writing Award, 1977, for writing The First Three Minutes Elliott Cresson Medal (Franklin Institute), 1979 Nobel Prize in Physics, 1979 Elected a Foreign Member of the Royal Society (ForMemRS) in 1981 Elected to American Philosophical Society (1982) and Philosophical Society of Texas James Madison Medal of Princeton University, 1991 National Medal of Science, 1991 Lewis Thomas Prize for Writing about Science, 1999. 2002 Humanist of the Year, American Humanist Association Benjamin Franklin Medal for Distinguished Achievement in the Sciences, American Philosophical Society, 2004 James Joyce Award, University College Dublin, 2009

Weinberg - References - Netflix