Nature's Top 40 - Netflix

Chris Packham's countdown of the UK's top 40 wildlife spectacles.

Type: Documentary

Languages: English

Status: Ended

Runtime: 30 minutes

Premier: 2008-12-01

Nature's Top 40 - APRA Top 100 New Zealand Songs of All Time - Netflix

The APRA Top 100 New Zealand Songs of All Time is a selection of New Zealand songs as voted in 2001 by members of the Australasian Performing Rights Association. The top 30 of this selection was used to create the Nature's Best CD and the rest of the list for follow up compilations. A similar list was made in Australia of the top 30 Australian songs.

Nature's Top 40 - Commentary - Netflix

Some artists feature prominently in the list. These include: Dave Dobbyn with the most songwriting credits (10) and second equal as an artist (6). Neil and Tim Finn have second and third place songwriting credits (9 and 8 respectively) The Finn-related bands Split Enz and Crowded House have the two highest entries (8 and 6—tied with Dave Dobbyn). Don McGlashan has 5 songwriting credits over his work with Blam Blam Blam and The Mutton Birds. Singer-songwriters Bic Runga and Sharon O'Neil each have 4 songs in the list. Herbs feature 4 times on the list. Music journalist Bruce Sergent notes that the list is highly skewed towards the 1980s and 90s to the detriment of earlier music, with notable omissions including Howard Morrison, Dinah Lee, and Ray Columbus & the Invaders. Some songs may also be claimed as both New Zealand and Australian. A list compiled by APRA at the same time of top 30 Australian songs also included Crowded House's 'Don't Dream It's Over' (at number 7). Political songs on the list include commentary on the 1981 Springbok tour riots in Blam Blam Blam's There Is No Depression in New Zealand, and nuclear testing in the French Pacific through Herbs' French Letter and DLT's Chains.

Nature's Top 40 - References - Netflix