Higurashi no Naku Koro ni: When They Cry - Netflix

Maebara Keiichi has just moved to the quiet little village of Hinamizawa in the summer of 1983 and quickly becomes inseparable friends with schoolmates Ryuuguu Rena, Sonozaki Mion, Houjou Satoko and Furude Rika, however, darkness lurks underneath the seemingly idyllic village.

Higurashi no Naku Koro ni: When They Cry - Netflix

Type: Scripted

Languages: Japanese

Status: Ended

Runtime: 56 minutes

Premier: 2016-05-20

Higurashi no Naku Koro ni: When They Cry - List of When They Cry episodes - Netflix

When They Cry is a Japanese anime series. The English titles for the first season are according to the names used by Funimation Entertainment. English titles in the other seasons are not official. In 2006, the first season was entitled Higurashi no Naku Koro ni (ひぐらしのなく頃に). It was produced by the Japanese animation studio Studio Deen and directed by Chiaki Kon. It was released in English by Geneon and Funimation, under the title When They Cry – Higurashi no Naku Koro ni. The first season contains twenty six episodes aired between April 4 and September 26 on a number of Japanese television networks, including Chiba TV, Kansai TV and Tokai TV. The story follows a group of five young friends and the strange events that occur in their village of Hinamizawa. A string of unexplained murders have plagued the town for the past three years during the annual Watanagashi Festival in June, and with the next Watanagashi approaching, things start to take a turn for the worse. The series is divided into six chapters which are based on the first six chapters in the original visual novel series. The first chapter is Onikakushi-hen (episodes one to four), followed by Watanagashi-hen (episodes five to eight), and Tatarigoroshi-hen (episodes nine to thirteen). Next is Himatsubushi-hen (episodes fourteen and fifteen), the shortest of the story arcs. The last two chapters are Meakashi-hen (episodes sixteen to twenty-one) and Tsumihoroboshi-hen (episodes twenty-two through twenty-six). In 2007, the second season entitled When They Cry: Kai (ひぐらしのなく頃に解, Higurashi no Naku Koro ni Kai, lit When The Cicadas Cry: Solution). It was produced by the same team and contains twenty-four episodes. The series aired in Japan between July 6 and December 17 on several Japanese television networks, such as Sun TV, TV Kanagawa and TV Saitama. The story is similar to the first season, and what was left unexplained in the first season is explained over the course of three separate story arcs. The first story is an anime-original arc called Yakusamashi-hen, which is followed by the last two arcs from the original visual novel series: Minagoroshi-hen and Matsuribayashi-hen. On September 18, 2007, a sixteen-year-old girl killed her father with an axe in Kyoto, Japan. The similarities between Kai and the incident were too strong. In response, Tokai TV replaced episode twelve on September 21, 2007 with a cooking show. In 2009, the third season was released as an original video animation series, entitled Higurashi no Naku Koro ni Rei. It consists of two arcs taken from the fan disc of the same name and another arc adapted from a light novel released with the PS2 game. An extra episode, Higurashi no Naku Koro ni Gaiden Nekogoroshi-hen (The Cat Killing Chapter), was released in Japan for the first season. A 52-minute OVA titled Higurashi no Naku Koro ni Kaku: Outbreak, adapted from Ryukishi07's short story “Higurashi Outbreak”, was released in August 2013.

Higurashi no Naku Koro ni: When They Cry - Higurashi no Naku Koro ni Rei (2009) - Netflix

Higurashi no Naku Koro ni: When They Cry - References - Netflix