Hakkenden: Eight Dogs of the East - Netflix

They would have lost their lives if they did not make the choice back then. The legendary eight beads and their owners... One is for someone important, and one is for his life as a human. The story of a destiny to encounter and fights lead by the beads, have just begun.

Hakkenden: Eight Dogs of the East - Netflix

Type: Animation

Languages: Japanese

Status: Ended

Runtime: 30 minutes

Premier: 2013-01-06

Hakkenden: Eight Dogs of the East - The Hakkenden - Netflix

The Hakkenden (THE 八犬伝, Za Hakkenden) is an OVA series by AIC and Artmic in two sequences, the second subtitled The Hakkenden: A New Arc (THE 八犬伝 新章, Za Hakkenden Shinshō). The anime is based on the epic novel Nansō Satomi Hakkenden written by Kyokutei Bakin during the latter half of the Edo period. At 106 volumes, the novel bears the distinction of being the longest novel in classic Japanese literature. The Hakkenden is most known for its unique approach to animation, switching between several distinct visual styles throughout the duration of the series (sometimes even several times within the same episode). In addition, the series is also noted for its heavy use of symbolic imagery and themes, allowing the series to straddle the line between animation and art. It is also known for introducing a modern perspective to a literary classic, since outdated, morally ambiguous concepts such as feudal loyalty and devotion are closely scrutinized and re-examined during many of the conflicts in the story. “The” at the front of the title is not a formality of translation, but a part of the title written in English, perhaps chosen by the series' writers to deliberately convey that sense of modernity.

Hakkenden: Eight Dogs of the East - Episode list - Netflix

Hakkenden: Eight Dogs of the East - References - Netflix