Colony - Netflix

Colony is a naturalistic drama about a family that's torn by opposing forces and makes difficult decisions as its members balance staying together with surviving the struggle of the human race. Set in the near future, the story takes place in Los Angeles, which exists in a state of occupation by a force of outside intruders. Some people choose to collaborate with the authorities and benefit from the new order, while others rebel and suffer the consequences. Josh Holloway stars in Colony as Will Bowman a former FBI agent who — in a bid to protect his family — is forced to collaborate with the occupational government to bring down the growing resistance movement inside the L.A. colony. Sarah Wayne Callies co-stars as Katie Bowman, Will's wife and a mother of three who struggles daily to keep her family safe and united in an occupied Los Angeles.

Colony - Netflix

Type: Scripted

Languages: English

Status: Running

Runtime: 60 minutes

Premier: 2016-01-14

Colony - Crown colony - Netflix

Crown colony, dependent territory and royal colony are terms used to describe the administration of United Kingdom overseas territories that are controlled by the British Government. As such they are examples of dependencies that are under colonial rule. Crown colonies were renamed “British Dependent Territories” in 1981, and since 2002, Crown colonies have been known officially as British Overseas Territories. In such territories, residents do not elect members of the British parliament. A Crown colony is usually administered by a governor who directly controls the executive and is appointed by “the Crown” — a term that in practice usually means the UK government, acting on behalf of the monarch. However, the term “Crown colony” has sometimes been used of entities that have elected governments and partial autonomy; these are also known as self-governing colonies.

Colony - Types - Netflix

There were three types of Crown colonies as of 1918, with differing degrees of autonomy: Crown colonies with representative councils such as Bermuda, Jamaica, Ceylon, British Columbia, Newfoundland and Fiji contained two legislative chambers, consisting of Crown-appointed and locally elected members. Crown colonies with nominated councils such as British Honduras, Sierra Leone, Grenada and Hong Kong were staffed entirely by Crown appointed members, with some appointed representation from the local population. Hong Kong had a representative council following the introduction of election for the Hong Kong Legislative Council in 1995. Crown colonies ruled directly by a Governor such as Basutoland, Gibraltar, Saint Helena and Singapore were fewest in number and had the least autonomy.

Colony - References - Netflix