BattleFrog College Championship - Netflix

BattleFrog College Championship is a sports competition television series directed by Ron Luscinski and written by Tom Davis, Ron Luscinski and Danny Llewelyn. Hosted by Ron Pitts, sportscaster and former NFL cornerback, and Evan Dollard, American Ninja Warrior and American Gladiators, BattleFrog College Championship showcases 16 co-ed rival college teams competing for a national championship and academic scholarships on the ultimate sprint track obstacle course built by Navy Seals; this single-elimination competition is a 350-meter, 4 person relay with over 20 obstacles testing the competitor's strength, speed, and endurance. The competing colleges for season one included: Syracuse University, Texas A&M University, The Pennsylvania State University, Triathlon Club of North Carolina State University, United States Military Academy, University of Alabama, University of Florida, University of Illinois, University of Kentucky, University of Miami, University of Michigan, University of Mississippi, University of Southern California, University of Virginia, University of Wisconsin and Virginia Tech.

The three episode series premiered on June 9, 2015, in the United States on ESPN2, and is a production of '51 Dons film, LLC and BattleFrog obstacle race series. Following its U.S. release, the series aired in Australia, New Zealand, Japan and Latin America. Season two is under development and expected to air in 2016. Casting for 64 athletes from 16 U.S. colleges began in September 2014. Competitors were selected based on their GPA and athletic performance. Filming commenced in Spring 2015 in Orlando, FL at Rock on Adventures Ranch alongside the BattleFrog obstacle race series Central Florida festival. Acclaimed sportscaster Ron Pitts and American Ninja Warrior 2 time finalist Evan Dollard hosted the 3 day single-elimination competition with sideline reporters, Emily Reppert from Fox Sports Southwest and Shawn Ramirez, 2 time crossfit winner.

BattleFrog College Championship - Netflix

Type: Sports

Languages: English

Status: Running

Runtime: 60 minutes

Premier: 2015-06-09

BattleFrog College Championship - Fiesta Bowl - Netflix

The Fiesta Bowl, officially the PlayStation Fiesta Bowl for sponsorship purposes, is an American college football bowl game played annually at the University of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale, Arizona. Between its origination in 1971 and 2006, the game was hosted in Tempe, Arizona at Sun Devil Stadium. As of November 2016, it is sponsored by PlayStation. From 1996 through the January 2014 game, Frito-Lay was the bowl's title sponsor through its Tostitos tortilla chip brand. It was most recently sponsored by BattleFrog, creators of the obstacle racing series featured in the ESPN program BattleFrog College Championship for the January 2016 game and Vizio for the December 2014 game. Other previous sponsors include Sunkist and IBM. In 1998, the Fiesta Bowl became part of the Bowl Championship Series (BCS), and before 2006 every four years (most recently in 2010) was the designee for the national championship game. Beginning with the 2014 season, Fiesta Bowl became a member of College Football Playoff, hosting a semifinal game every three years; all the teams playing in this bowl will be selected by the CFP Selection Committee in those years.

BattleFrog College Championship - 1970s - Netflix

In its first decade of existence, the Fiesta Bowl was played in the last week of December (including the afternoon of Christmas Day from 1976 to 1979). The 1971 inaugural game featured another top-ten Arizona State squad against top-twenty opponent Florida State. The 1974 game featured WAC champ BYU and their new coach, future Hall of Fame member LaVell Edwards in their first ever bowl game vs. Oklahoma State. BYU was in control until BYU's first All-American quarterback Gary Sheide went down with a leg injury and eventually lost 16–6. By 1975, the game was able to attract Big Eight co-champion Nebraska to play undefeated Arizona State in a matchup of top-five teams. In 1977, the game was again able to attract a top-five opponent in Penn State, despite WAC champion #16 BYU refusing to play in the bowl due to its being held on Sunday. In 1978, Arizona and Arizona State both joined the Pac-10 Conference and the Fiesta Bowl's tie-in with the WAC ended as its champ went to the newly-inaugurated Holiday Bowl. From then until the advent of the Bowl Coalition, Fiesta Bowl matchups typically featured runners-up of major conferences and/or major independents.

BattleFrog College Championship - References - Netflix